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Sunday, September 25, 2022

Marketing Glossary

Will Google Penalize Sites That Look the Same? [Answered]

When it comes to Google search rankings, we need to consider several factors that affect performance.

Search Engine Journal contributor Roger Montti has published an article answering the question on whether Google penalizes sites with the same look.

He says, “Google’s John Mueller answered the question if Google penalizes sites that are nearly identical. Mueller used examples of different levels of similarity between sites and suggested which one to avoid.

Will Google Rank Sites that Look the Same?

The question asked was about whether two sites that look similar could still rank in Google search.

There was no mention as to whether the content was similar but John also included that scenario into his answer.

This is the question that was asked:

“We’re planning to share the same backend and frontend for our two brands.

We’re ranking quiet well with both of them in Google.

How big is the risk of penalization if we use the same HTML structure, same components, layout and same look and feel between the different brand?”

Will Google Penalize Sites That Look the Same?

Search Engine Journal

Which Social Media Channels are Gaining and Losing Steam? [Answered]

Social media platforms play a vital role in today’s marketing processes. With the right social marketing strategy, you can continue to grow your sales.

HubSpot contributor has published an article answering the question ‘Which Social Media Channels are Gaining and Losing Steam?’.

She says, “HubSpot surveyed over 1,000 consumers across the U.S to find out which social media channels are gaining steam — and which are falling behind. Read on to discover which platforms are most popular with consumers in 2022.

Social Media Channels Gaining Steam in 2022

Facebook

Facebook currently attracts 2.89 billion monthly users, more than any other social platform. A high concentration of its audience belongs to Millennials, Gen X-ers, and Baby Boomers.

In the last three months, a whopping 91% of Baby Boomers88% of Millennials, and 83% of Gen X-ers have visited Facebook.”

Which Social Media Channels are Gaining and Losing Steam? [New Consumer and Platform Data]

WordPress site settings for better SEO performance

WordPress is one of the most SEO-friendly content management systems. A combination of SEO and strong WordPress fundamentals can lead your business to success.

Search Engine Land contributor John McAlpin has shared 12 WordPress site settings that are critical to your SEO success.

He says, “In SEO, security is an often overlooked but important consideration. Beyond general SEO settings, we’ll review some necessary security settings that can help prevent negative SEO attacks.

SEO settings for WordPress

Below are simple settings that should be the foundation of all WordPress sites looking to improve their SEO efforts.

1. Set up homepage and blog settings

Before you start building out the pages and posts, you must ensure that your homepage and blog pages are set up and ready to go. This may seem like a minor detail, but it’s essential. Your homepage is the first thing people will see when they visit your site, so you want to make sure it makes a good impression.

Likewise, your blog is a great way to connect with your audience and build an engaged following. By setting up these essential pages before you start adding content, you’re more likely to end up with a successful website that people will enjoy visiting.”

12 WordPress site settings that are critical to your SEO success

Search Engine Land

Why You Need a Community Strategy, September 20 [Webinar]

New trends and technologies can fall flat if your business hasn’t built the connections and collaboration needed to best take advantage of those tools. Join us to learn how to foster community engagement so your business can thrive in a tech-powered world.

MarketingProfs is hosting a webinar ‘Why You Need a Community Strategy’ on Tuesday, September 20, 2022, at 2.00 pm ET.

The MarketingProfs team says, “It’s easy to get excited about new trends and technologies for your business, but all those shiny new tools and tech won’t perform if you haven’t first built an engaged community.

In this age of digital transformation… social connection and collaboration are more important than ever.

Join us to learn how to foster engagement that’ll help your business thrive… now and in the future.

You’ll learn:

  • Which emerging digital tools will be vital to any business
  • How to develop a community strategy to ensure engagement
  • How to prepare your business for digital transformation.”

Why You Need a Community Strategy

MarketingProfs

What’s REALLY Working in SEO [Podcast]

Search Engine Journal has published a new episode of the Search Engine Journal Show podcast ‘What’s REALLY Working In SEO’ featuring Craig Campbell.

Loren Baker says, “It is possible that what works in SEO now is not what you think. Contrary to popular belief, it’s not all about keywords and keyword research – though they certainly help! Today, almost everything works differently, and we’re here to find out why.

Craig Campbell, Glasgow’s top SEO expert, joined me in this episode of the SEJ Show for a candid discussion about what’s REALLY working in SEO at the moment, including a discussion around dropped domains, domain leasing, PBNs, link building, YouTube, TikTok and other media outlets that Google loves!”

Search Engine Journal

What Is Cost Per Click (CPC)? [Answered]

Search Engine Journal contributor Brooke Osmundson has published an article explaining the Cost Per Click (CPC) bidding.

She says, “CPC (cost per click) is a common term used in paid advertising.

It is also sometimes referred to as “pay-per-click.”

This comprehensive guide will dive into the basics of CPC, why it’s important, and when to use it.

What Is Cost Per Click?

Cost per click is a bidding model that determines how much advertisers pay for their ads.

The technical definition of cost per click, according to Google:

Cost-per-click (CPC) bidding means that you pay for each click on your ads.

How To Calculate Cost Per Click?

To calculate cost per click, you take your total ad cost divided by the number of clicks received.

For example, if your campaign spent $500 in a day and you received 100 clicks, your calculated CPC would be $5.00.”

What Is Cost Per Click (CPC)?

Search Engine Journal

White Label Assessments for Lead Generation #ad

Your site needs leads; our site needs leads; all marketers need leads. White Label Assessments for Lead Generation provides leads by giving targeted clients a valuable service.

If you sell to other online marketers, or to any business, for that matter, they are often wondering what services they need. you can help them decide with an assessment of their needs. The new White Label Assessments for Lead Generation package (which is just launched by Content Sparks) makes building the assessment simple.

Suppose you offer a free checklist they can use to assess their business’s current fitness in the area(s) you can assist them with. They take the assessment. If they see they have a problem in the area, you are the one they naturally would turn to for help[. Your assessment is evidence of your expertise. Why should they look any farther?

This launch sale has a flexible list of components you can choose from:
• 6 lead-generating assessments to drive more sales of your courses, products, and services.
• A white label mini-course to learn and teach others how to create assessments from scratch. (Includes a bonus!)

You can choose any of these White Label assessments that match your offerings or all of them (at a 60% launch discount.) The course is at a 60% discount, too.

Each Assessment Pack includes:

➤ Ready-to-go assessment with questions and scoring key (in docx format)
➤ The assessment in a beautiful Canva template (easy to edit)
➤ 3 follow-up emails (to nurture your new leads and sell a related course)
➤ 10 social media posts (to drive traffic to your assessment)
➤ 10 social media images (engage leads on social media or elsewhere)

The mini-course includes:

➤ Student Materials (Course Book, Cheat Sheet, Action Guide, and Planner in .docx)
➤ Instructor Materials (Slideshow, Speaking Notes, and Instructions)
➤ Lead Generation Materials (Social Media posts to drive traffic to your mini-course)

If you want to teach workshops to business owners, there are courses related to the topics of the assessment that you can add to your order. One business opportunity would be to advertise the free assessment; add a link to the assessment form to let the sign up for your next course related to the assessment.

This is all on sale now. Get your own copy here: White Label Assessments for Lead Generation.

What Marketers Need to Know about Intellectual Property [Video]

HubSpot has published a new video ‘What Marketers Need to Know about Intellectual Property’ explaining the value of intellectual property in marketing.

The HubSpot team says, “Intellectual Property can help brands grow their business. Kipp and Kieran dive deep into the why and how they are preparing for the future. Do you think IP will be as valuable?

In this weekly show, HubSpot’s CMO and SVP of Marketing, Kipp Bodnar and Kieran Flanagan, share their marketing expertise – unfiltered in the details, the truth, and like nobody tells it to you. Tune in for high-level perspective, conversation, and the occasional argument as they serve up an honest-to-goodness sense of how you can move your business forward.”

HubSpot

Will SEO Be a Thing in 20 Years? [Podcast]

iPullRank has published a new podcast episode ‘Will SEO Be a Thing in 20 Years?’.

The iPullRank team says, “Where will SEO be in 20 years time? Will the internet need SEOs when my 6 month old daughter is ready to enter the work force? We asked the industry and got a range of answers.

In this week’s episode, we also cover an awesome GA4 Google Data Studio Report, internal site search spam, and programmatic content expansion.

Also:

Ways to Improve Email Newsletters

With email newsletters, you can continue to build your following and grow your business.

MarketingProfs contributor Chad S. White has shared nine best practices to improve email newsletters.

He says, “To get a read on the latest newsletter trends, I spoke with our creative services and B2B teams here at Oracle Marketing Consulting about what they were doing when they overhauled our clients’ newsletters.

Here are their top recommendations. Consider these your guide to the new best-practices for email newsletters.

1. Use single-column layouts

Although a two-column layout allows you to get more content on a page, those emails are hard to read, especially on mobile. Content in a single column is easier on the eyes, easier to scroll through, and easier to make mobile-friendly.

2. Adopt modular email architecture

Using a flexible modular build system rather than a rigid template for every kind of email you send typically reduces email-build times for our clients 25-40%. But a modular system also makes A/B testing, template maintenance, and personalization easier.”

Email Newsletters: Nine New Best-Practices

MarketingProfs